FAQ list Rhodes - October 25
- 2016

In this FAQ we offer tips to play Rhodes correctly
and we answer all the questions that are
frequently asked.

If you're still not sure about something, then you
can always contact us via e-mail on
mailto:info@thegamemaster.nl with your
questions.

The Game Master would like to apologize for
some minor errors that occur in the very first
print of the game. However these do not
influence the fun and other qualities of the
game, as we have heard from many fans. The
game is played with a lot of enthusiasm, as
we've seen in Essen and during the prerelease in
Veldhoven.

The game is, with these minor errors, 100%
playable, exciting, fun and challenging. In this
FAQ you will find thirty or so questions and
answers, and next to that we also offer three
points of attention, and five handy tips and
tricks.

You can always contact us if you have any
questions or suggestions via the following e-mail
address: mailto:info@thegamemaster.nl.

If you found out your purchase was incomplete,
then we will send the missing parts without
charge, but only within the Benelux. If you need
bigger game pieces we can ask you for a receipt
or bill to verify your purchase.

The Game Master

The Game Master
Burgemeester Vogelaarsingel
2912 BB Nieuwerkerk aan de lJssel

Netherlands

=GAME

MASTER

For questions or
suggestions:

Mail:
info@thegamemaster.nl
Phone: 0031-180-756193

POINTS OF ATTENTION!

1. Rules - Player sequence

There is one incorrect explanation in the Dutch
rules: Page 6, Spelverloop, phase 4. Beurtmarker
plaatsen, rechterkolom, line 3: here the word
"minstens" is missing. It should be the following
line: "Deze (beurtmarker) moet MINSTENS één rij
hoger of lager worden geplaatst.”

This is an important rule that you want to apply
correctly, because the players get more freedom
of choice. Your marker only can't stay in the
same line. If applied correctly, you'll experience
more influence on the game.

2. Materials - Double assignment tile

Eén One assignment tile is present in two levels
(Irand IlN), where it should not be in the level IlI.
It should have been a different assignment. The
backside of the tile is correct (it shows a lll), but
the front was wrongly located in the digital file.

Thus there is a slightly bigger chance for grapes,
and a slightly lower chance for wheat. This has

no severe influence on the game itself however.

The wrong tile: The correct tile:

3. Flatten the board correctly

To attain a good execution of the pushing of
boats through the harbor we advise that you
bend the game board a little further. When you
hold the board, with the 0 victory points in de
bottom left and the 50 victory points in the
bottom right, then the top left quarter of the
board has to bend as such that the cutting line of
the bottom left quarter is higher than the top
left quarter.

The game board is of sturdy quality and will not
break, as long as you bend it with caution.



5 Handy playing tips

If you play Rhodes for the first time, you're quite
likely to make some mistakes. That's why we
have a few tips to keep in mind to enjoy a good
game. The author (Pieter Boots) has made the
game as such to give lots of liberty to the
players, and thus you will not be held back by
limitations or exceptions within the rules (as
there aren't any).

TIP 1: Use the direct delivery more often!

While fulfilling an assignment you have to keep
in mind that you are allowed to import products
directly from your own estate to help you fulfill
the assignment. The first product you import
costs 3 drachmas and the second product costs 5
drachmas to import.

Harbor, right column, page 9

TIP 2: Don't miss the boat!

Keep an eye on the gold, because it's worth
more than just 2 victory points at the end of the
game. The assignments on level Il and lll also
require gold, so don't let other players buy the
gold too cheap.

Final scoring and winner, page 6

TIP 3: You can buy from yourself!

You are allowed to buy products from your own
boats, but then you pay the money to the bank.
This could make the difference between you
fulfilling an assignment or any other player
fulfilling it.

Harbor, page 9

TIP 4: You can buy more than one product!

You are allowed to buy any number of products
when choosing the harbor action. Of course you
need the money to pay for all of it and you need
to have the room in your warehouse. Buy your
products strategically, because the market price
is quick to change.

Harbor, page 9

TIP 5: Buy your victory points at the right
moment!

When the game is almost over, it could be
interesting to visit the Temple. Here you can
exchange money for victory points. You are
allowed to spend as much money as you have...
Temple, page 10

FAQ

The following questions were frequently asked
and so we will try our best to answer them in
this file. These questions are ranked by the
different actions in the game:

1. Production action

2. Farm action

3. Harbor action

4. Market action

5. Temple action

6. Town hall action

7. Miscellaneous questions

1. PRODUCTION ACTION (PRODUCTION FIELDS)

How are products distributed among the
production fields of the players?

The player that produces distributes the
products clockwise among all the production

fields starting with himself. If a player has 2
production fields of the same product, then he
has the right to obtain 1 product per production
field (if the amount produced allows it).

page 7, production, point 3

Can | produce the same product twice?
No, you always choose 2 chips (that haven't

already been picked) and place them on 2 of the
available product spaces.

Example: Wheat and olives have already been
produced with the chips numbering 2 and 3.
With this setup you have to choose to produce
milk and grapes and you can only choose from
the other chips (namely 1, 3, and 4).

Does the irrigation tile also work if another
player produces?
Yes, you always receive an extra product, as long

as you have space on your production fields (or
on your storage house for that matter). With this
tile you even get a product if a player produces a
product and chooses to produce only "1".



2. FARM ACTION

How do | move my products from my fields onto
a boat and into the harbor?

By choosing the FARM action you pick a boat
from your collection, fill it with your products,
and place it in the harbor. You shove your boat
into the harbor and push the other boats along
until the total length of your boat is in the
harbor. Don't forget to claim your victory points
or money for every product you put into the
harbor.

page 8, point 4

Can | choose a combination of victory points and

money after I've brought my products to the
harbor?

Yes, you can.

When do | get the victory point or money that is
shown in the black boxes of the production tiles?

Every time you choose the FARM action. First
you execute these actions (all the actions that
are shown in the black boxes of your production
fields and development tiles) and then you fill up
a boat and shove it down the harbor.

Page 8, farm, point 1 and 2

While doing the FARM action, do | only get the
money if | execute the action that is shown on a
development tile?

No, you always get the money. Even if you can't
or don't want to execute the action.

3. HARBOR ACTION (HARBOR)

How do | get my products on a boat?

With the FARM action (and not the HARBOR
action) you get to put your products on a boat
and shove it down the harbor. For more
information see the farm action explanation

above.

How do | put a ship into the harbor?

This is the last part of the FARM action, and NOT
the HARBOR action. The HARBOR action is used
to buy products from the ships in the harbor and
to fulfill assignments.

If | put a boat into the harbor, am | allowed any
combination of victory points and money for my
products?

Yes you can. But this is done with the FARM
action and not the HARBOR action!

Can | take products from my warehouse and put

them on a boat?
No. You can only choose from the products you

have on your production fields.

If a ship is on 2 different price ranges, then what
do the products cost?

The price of every product is equal to the
number that is shown next to it. If a ship, with 2
products, is on the line between 3 and 4
drachma. Then the front product costs 3
drachma, and the product in the back costs 4
drachma.

How much gold and products can | buy?

You are allowed to buy as much as you can, even
from yourself (but then you pay the bank in
stead of yourself). The only limitations are the
amount of money you have and the space you

have in your warehouse (which can hold a
maximum of 10 products).
Page 9, point 1, purchasing goods

If | purchase a brown cube from an Egyptian
ship, am | allowed to convert it to gold?

No, you can only choose 1 of the 4 products,
namely olives, wheat, grapes, or milk.

If | purchase a brown cube from an Egyptian
ship, can | put it in my warehouse and later

choose what it will become?
No, when you purchase a brown cube you
immediately convert it to a product cube of your

choice. It is not allowed to have a brown cube in
your warehouse.

What happens to the products and gold that are
still on a ship when it gets pushed off of the
harbor?

The products and gold of the Egyptian ships get
placed in the general storage. And the products
off of ships of other players get put in their own
warehouses. Also see the FARM action on page
8, point 6.




What happens with an empty ship that's still in
the harbor?

This ship stays in the harbor until it's pushed, in
total, off of the harbor by other ships. Also see
the FARM action on page 8, point 6.

If there are still products on my ship when it
reaches the end of the harbor, do | lose these
products?

No, you get to put them in your warehouse. But
gold and products off of Egyptian ships, that
don't belong to anyone, move to the general
storage after they reach the end of the harbor.

4. MARKET ACTION (MARKET)

Do | get a total of 5 drachma when | hand in 2
products?

No, you get 5 drachma per product. So if you're
the first to choose the MARKET action and you
sell 2 products, then you earn a total of 10
drachma. Note that you're allowed to sell
different kinds of products per action.

5. TEMPLE ACTION (TEMPLE)

Am | allowed to exchange more than 5 or 7
drachma for victory points?

Yes, you can buy as much victory points as you
want. So if you're the first to choose the TEMPLE
action and you buy 5 victory points, then you
pay the bank the amount of 25 drachma.

6. TOWN HALL ACTION (TOWN HALL)

Can | purchase the same tile multiple times?

Of the production fields you are allowed to buy
multiple tiles of the product (for example: you
could obtain all the tiles for grapes and create a
monopoly). Only at the start of a 2 or 3 player
game are you not allowed to buy two tiles of one
product.

Of the development tiles you are only allowed to
buy one of each, so you can't own two traders,
or irrigation tiles.

Can | activate a development tile multiple times?

No, you can't. They only work once per action.
Either with the FARM action, or when a product
is produced (irrigation).



Miscellaneous questions

STARTING PLAYER

Does the starting player have any advantage at
the beginning of the game?

No. The starting player gets to pick a production
field first and gets to choose an action first. But
the products are evenly distributed among the
assignments, so there is no advantage in the
choice of production fields. The actions are of
influence on what the other players can and
can't do, so here as well there is no unfair
advantage to be had.

EXECUTING ACTIONS

Can | use an action that already has another
marker on it?

No, this action was already chosen by another
player and is taken until the end of the round
(until all players have placed their markers). If
you start higher on the Player Sequence List you
might get to execute it the next round.

If I've already done an action, but there is still
place for another marker, am | allowed execute
that action again?

Yes, you can!

Example: If you've produced wheat and olives
with your first action, then you're allowed to
produce grapes and milk with your second
action.

MONEY - DRACHMA

Am | allowed to borrow money from the bank?
No, not in this game

Is everybody's wealth visible for everyone to
see?

Yes! When somebody asks you how much
money you have, then you have to answer
correctly.

GOLD

Does the harbor have to contain 2 gold pieces at
all times?

At the end of each round the amount of
purchasable gold is checked if there are AT
LEAST two pieces available. If there are less than
two pieces available, you replenish the amount
by shoving a new Egyptian ship down the harbor.
So you also continue to add ships to the harbor if
one Egyptian ship pushes another off of the
harbor. It's also possible to have 3 gold in the
harbor, as there are some ships that carry 2 gold.

Is the gold-assignment strategy the best
strategy?

No, but if the other players do not compete for
the gold and you are able to buy it for cheap
time and again, then it can be a good strategy. If
you've played Rhodes once, then you should
know what to watch for ;-).

DEVELOPMENT TILE STORAGE BARN

Am | allowed to get one product of each, if | own
a storage barn, if it is being produced?

No, with the storage barn tile you are able to
store up to one commodity per product, but only
get to store it there if you also have a production
field of the produced product as well.

COMPLETING ASSIGNMENTS

Can | fulfill more than one assignment with one
action?
No!
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